Galerie Judith Andreae
Loader

Pia Ferm

Pia Ferm: News

  • 17.09.2021

  • Pia Ferm | Bread and Butter 17.09. - 30.10.2021


  • In her first solo exhibition "Bread and Butter", Swedish artist PIA FERM (*1986, Lysekil) introduces us to her textile work, which is in dialogue with her sculptural works. The exhibition space becomes the stage for a painterly-abstract still life within a private interior. "Art is my livelihood," the artist professes. The symbolic language of her hand-tufted tapestries and the stories told by her sculptures carved in marble represent a form of first encounter and communication with the art market.

  • 25.08.2021

  • PIA FERM | Studio Visit Collectors Agenda


  • »I insist on creating my universe slowly.« Be it carving, weaving or tufting, Pia Ferm defines herself as a sculptor. In her neat tapestries, hand-trimmed to keep the surface alive, the Swedish artist mixes a pretty medium with humor, creating figures that are frozen in time like cartoons. Time is essential for Ferm but not in the way you might think. She has plenty of it. Rasmus Kyllönen met the artist for an interview. https://www.collectorsagenda.com/en/in-the-studio/pia-ferm

Pia Ferm: Work

Pia Ferm: Biography

Pia Ferm
Born 1986 in Lysekil, Sweden
download PDF

Download vita

  • 2014-2020

  • HFBK Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main,

  • 2012-2013

  • Valand Academy, Universität Gothenburg, Gothenburg

  • 2011-2014

  • Dômen artschool, Gothenburg

  • Lives and works in Frankfurt am Main

Scholarships and prizes
  • 2020

  • (DE) No-Travel-Scholarship, AIR Artist-in-Residence-Programm, Frankfurt a.M

  • Travel grant, Hans und Stefan Bernbeck-Stiftung, Frankfurt a.M

  • 2019

  • Working grant, Die Künstlerhilfe Frankfurt e.V., Frankfurt

  • 2017

  • ‚Marita Kaus Gedächtnispreis‘, working scholarship, Frankfurt a.M

  • ‚Helge Ax:son Jonsson Stiftelse, Scholarship

  • ‘Salzburg International Summer Academy Study Grant’, Salzburg

  • 2014, 2015, 2016

  • ‘Stiftelsen AAAs fond’, Scholarship

  • 2013

  • ‘Dômen Konstskolas Utställningsstipendium’, Dômen

SOLO EXHIBITIONS
Group Exhibition
  • 2020

  • 'L‘Esprit', Portikus, Frankfurt/Main

  • 'Time Flies in This Pending Space', 5th Floor, Frankfurt/Main

  • 2019

  • 'Lash 23', Nassauischer Kunstverein Wiesbaden

  • 'A good life's sleep', Kornhäuschen, Aschaffenburg

  • 'TAKE IT EASY', Galerie Judith Andreae, Bonn

  • 2018

  • 'Pointland’, Galerie Conradi, Hamburg

  • 2017

  • ‘Die Waltz’, Frankfurt

  • ‘How to disappear and never be found’, Statio, Offenbach

  • 2016-2018

  • ‘Stone sympasiu, Summeracademy Salzburg’, Untersberg

  • 2015

  • ‘Out of the blue’, Well, Well, Well, Vienna

  • ’24 Seuns sangga‘, XiooXio, Seoul

  • 2014

  • ‘Dômen konstkokas vårustställning, Gothenberg

  • 2013

  • ‚Tre debutanter‘, Göteborgs Konstförening, Gothenberg

  • ‚Skanka loss‘, Gagnef

  • ‚Pow-wow-snap!‘, Galleri Monitor, Gothenberg

  • 2012

  • ‘Art and Publishing’, Rotor2, Gothenberg

  • 2011

  • ‘Contemporary printmaking’, Rotor2, Gothenberg

Represented in collections
  • ART IN PUBLIC SPACES

  • 2022

  • Indexgriff', monument in honor of Johann-Christian Senckenberg, Senckenberg Quartier Frankfurt

Pia Ferm: Texts

  • download PDF
  • Pia Ferm about her work, March 2020


    "I want my objects to balance on the edge between being themselves and describing themselves. Like hieroglyphs having left their walls or a drawing turned into a sculpture -not the motif of the drawing- but the drawing itself as turned into a sculpture. ..."

  • download PDF
  • PRESSRELEASE TAKE IT EASY


    "The works by Pia Ferm (*1986), Lukas Glinkowski (*1984), Julia Gruner (*1984) and Antje Zeiher (*1979) question the boundaries of painting. Not only is the absence of the canvas as carrier of the color itself an indicator but in their works painting is also redefined - it blurs in the sculptural, handicrafts or as objet trouvé. (...)"

Pia Ferm: Press

  • PDF ansehen
  • With Needle and Thread | Pia Ferm


    In the current exhibition "Bread and Butter" with works by Pia Ferm at the Judith Andreae Gallery, however, the practiced restraint is difficult. Above all, the textile pictorial works of the Swedish artist (born 1986), who studied in Gothenburg and at the Städelschule in Frankfurt/Main, virtually demand a haptic confirmation of their existence. ...

    PDF Download
  • PDF ansehen
  • PIA FERM: MEIN TÄGLICH BROT BEZAHL MIR - GALLERYTALK


    My daily bread pays me Pia Ferm in the gallery Judith Andreae Pia Ferm is an old-fashioned artist. She says so herself, referring to a slow, artisanal process of image production. Under the title "Bread & Butter" her works are currently on view at the Bonn gallery Judith Andreae. We talk about her ambivalent relationship to beauty, buttered bread and the longing to make money.

    PDF Download
  • PDF ansehen
  • PIA FERM | Studio Visit Collectors Agenda


    »I insist on creating my universe slowly.« Be it carving, weaving or tufting, Pia Ferm defines herself as a sculptor. In her neat tapestries, hand-trimmed to keep the surface alive, the Swedish artist mixes a pretty medium with humor, creating figures that are frozen in time like cartoons. Time is essential for Ferm but not in the way you might think. She has plenty of it. Rasmus Kyllönen met the artist for an interview.

    PDF Download
  • PDF ansehen
  • TAKE IT EASY - ZEITKUNST SEP 19


    Zeitkunst - September 2019 "Neue Leichtigkeit. Vier internationale Künstler überwinden in der Galerie Judith Andreae die Grenzen der Malerei", Kathrin Albrecht

    PDF Download
  • PDF ansehen
  • BONNER GENERALANZEIGER - TAKE IT EASY


    Bonner Generalanzeiger, September 12th, 2019 "Die Fantasie ist gefordert. Gutes Auge für faszinierende Kunst: Die Bonner Galerie Judith Andreae zeigt die Gruppenausstellung 'take it easy'" - Jill Mylonas

    PDF Download

Pia Ferm: Videos

Galerie Judith Andreae
Loader

Pia FERM

Pia FERM: News

  • 26.07.2022

  • PIA FERM | PODCAST HESSISCHER RUNDFUNK


  • Pia Ferm war zu Gast im Podcast des Hessischen Rundfunks und sprach mit hr-iNFO-Redakteurin Tanja Küchle sowie Künstlerinnen und Vertreterinnen vom Künstlerinnen-Verband GEDOK Rhein-Main e.V. über die Situation von Frauen im künstlerischen Bereich. Ein Austausch über Durchsetzungsmöglichkeiten von Frauen auf dem Kunstmarkt, über Strategien, spezielle Unterstützungs- und Fördermöglichkeiten für Künstlerinnen. Podcast: https://www.hr-inforadio.de/podcast/kulturlust/brillant-und-benachteiligt-frauen-in-der-kunst,podcast-episode-105584.html

  • 25.08.2021

  • PIA FERM | Studio Visit Collectors Agenda


  • »Ich bestehe darauf, mein Universum langsam zu erschaffen.« Ob Schnitzen, Weben oder Tuften, Pia Ferm bezeichnet sich selbst als Bildhauerin. In ihren Wandteppichen, die von Hand beschnitten werden, um die Oberfläche lebendig zu halten, mischt die schwedische Künstlerin ein schönes Medium mit Humor und schafft Figuren, die wie Cartoons in der Zeit eingefroren sind. Zeit ist für Ferm essenziell, aber nicht so, wie man vielleicht denken könnte, denn sie hat reichlich davon. Rasmus Kyllönen traf die Künstlerin für ein Interview. https://www.collectorsagenda.com/de/in-the-studio/pia-ferm

Pia FERM: Werk

Pia FERM: Vita

Pia FERM
Geboren 1986 in Lysekil, Schweden
PDF ansehen

Vita herunterladen

  • 2014-2020

  • HFBK Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main

  • 2012-2013

  • Valand Academy, Universität Göteborg, Göteborg

  • 2011-2014

  • Dômen artschool, Göteborg

  • lebt und arbeitet in Frankfurt am Main

Stipendien und preise
  • 2022

  • Ottilie Roederstein Nachwuchsstipendium, Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst

  • 2020

  • No-Travel-Scholarship, AIR Artist-in-Residence-Programm, Frankfurt a.M

  • Reisestipendium, Hans und Stefan Bernbeck-Stiftung, Frankfurt a.M

  • 2019

  • Förderpreis, Die Künstlerhilfe Frankfurt e.V., Frankfurt

  • 2017

  • ‚Marita Kaus Gedächtnispreis‘, Arbeitsstipendium, Frankfurt a.M

  • Stipendium‚ Helge Ax:son Jonsson Stiftelse, Stipendium

  • Fortbildungsstipendium, ‘Salzburg International Summer Academy Study Grant’, Salzburg

  • 2014, 2015, 2016

  • Fortbildungsstipendium, ‘Stiftelsen AAAs fond’, Stipendium

  • 2013

  • ‘Dômen Konstskolas Utställningsstipendium’, Dômen

Einzelausstellungen
Gruppenausstellungen
In Sammlungen vertreten
  • KUNST IM ÖFFENTLICHEN RAUM

  • 2022

  • Indexgriff', Denkmal zu Ehren von Johann-Christian Senckenberg, Senckenberg Quartier Frankfurt

Pia FERM: Texte

  • PDF ansehen
  • Pia Ferm über ihre Arbeit, März 2020


    "Ich möchte, dass meine Objekte auf der Grenze zwischen dem Sein und der Beschreibung ihrer selbst balancieren. So wie Hieroglyphen, die ihre Wände verlassen haben, oder eine Zeichnung, die zu einer Skulptur geworden ist - nicht das Motiv der Zeichnung - sondern die Zeichnung selbst, die zu einer Skulptur geworden ist. ..."

  • PDF ansehen
  • PRESSEMITTEILUNG TAKE IT EASY


    "Die Arbeiten von Pia Ferm (*1986, Lysekil, Schweden), Lukas Glinkowski (*1984, Chelmno, Polen), Julia Gruner (*1984) und Antje Zeiher (*1979, Reutlingen) stellen die Grenzen von Malerei in Frage. Nicht nur fehlt oft die Leinwand als Träger der Farbe selbst, auch wird Malerei neu definiert und verschwimmt im Skulpturalen, Kunsthandwerk oder als Objet trouvé. (...)"

Pia FERM: Presse

  • PDF ansehen
  • Poesie mit Nadel und Garn | Pia Ferm


    In der aktuellen Ausstellung "Bread and Butter" mit Arbeiten von Pia Ferm in der Galerie Judith Andreae fällt die eingeübte Zurückhaltung allerdings schwer. Vor allem die textilen Bildwerke der schwedischen Künstlerin (Jahrgang 1986), die in Göteborg und an der Städelschule in Frankfurt/Main studiert hat, verlangen geradezu nach einer haptischen Bestätigung ihrer Existenz. ...

    PDF Download
  • PDF ansehen
  • PIA FERM: MEIN TÄGLICH BROT BEZAHL MIR - GALLERYTALK


    Mein täglich Brot bezahl mir Pia Ferm in der Galerie Judith Andreae Pia Ferm ist eine altmodische Künstlerin. Das sagt sie selbst und meint damit einen langsamen, handwerklichen Prozess der Bildproduktion. Unter dem Titel „Bread & Butter“ sind ihre Arbeiten aktuell in der Bonner Galerie Judith Andreae zu sehen. Wir sprechen über ihr ambivalentes Verhältnis zu Schönheit, Butterbrot und die Sehnsucht nach dem Geldverdienen.

    PDF Download
  • PDF ansehen
  • PIA FERM | Studio Visit Collectors Agenda


    »Ich bestehe darauf, mein Universum langsam zu erschaffen.« Ob Schnitzen, Weben oder Tuften, Pia Ferm bezeichnet sich selbst als Bildhauerin. In ihren Wandteppichen, die von Hand beschnitten werden, um die Oberfläche lebendig zu halten, mischt die schwedische Künstlerin ein schönes Medium mit Humor und schafft Figuren, die wie Cartoons in der Zeit eingefroren sind. Zeit ist für Ferm essenziell, aber nicht so, wie man vielleicht denken könnte, denn sie hat reichlich davon. Rasmus Kyllönen traf die Künstlerin für ein Interview.

    PDF Download
  • PDF ansehen
  • TAKE IT EASY - ZEITKUNST SEP 19


    Zeitkunst - September 2019 "Neue Leichtigkeit. Vier internationale Künstler überwinden in der Galerie Judith Andreae die Grenzen der Malerei", Kathrin Albrecht

    PDF Download
  • PDF ansehen
  • BONNER GENERALANZEIGER - TAKE IT EASY


    Bonner Generalanzeiger, September 12th, 2019 "Die Fantasie ist gefordert. Gutes Auge für faszinierende Kunst: Die Bonner Galerie Judith Andreae zeigt die Gruppenausstellung 'take it easy'" - Jill Mylonas

    PDF Download

Pia FERM: Videos